Still Here!

I hope you all didn’t think I gave up!  I just suck at updating this blog is all. I am going to try my best to update more frequently instead of leaving it for months at a time.  It’s just tough to come home after 8+ hours on a computer at a desk for work to hop onto a computer at home for fun.

I actually just busted through a massive (and sucky) plateau that was discouraging me for the past few months.  As of right now (38 weeks in), I am down 27.2 lbs from 193.6 to 166.4.

My plateau lasted for a good 3 months.  Every week was disappointing at WW.  Up a little.  Down a little.  Up a lot.  Down a little.  And at that time, I was only down about 20 pounds.  You can’t imagine the frustration and anger I felt during those months when I saw zero progress no matter how hard I tried!!

Then one day, it ended.

I started a new job about a month ago and it really kick started my weight loss and pushed me past the plateau.  I’m moving a whole lot more (the office is giant), eating on a more “normal” schedule and eating less (but staying full) thanks to actually being busy.

The first week at the new job was tough and a bit stressful because of all the new information being thrown at me.  Because I was so overwhelmed and busy, I wasn’t eating.  I ended up losing 3 lbs after my first week!!  Sure that sounds great but since I knew WHY I lost the 3 lbs, I wasn’t too happy about it.  I figured by the next week, I’d be back to gaining.  Sure enough, I was up by 1.6 lbs the next week.  I knew why this happened (I was eating again) so I didn’t beat myself up over it.

Now that I was all “balanced” out again with a big loss and a big gain, I figured that I’d be back on my plateau of little losses and gains.

WRONG!

In the past 3 weeks, I lost 5 lbs!  I wasn’t able to lose 5 lbs in 3 MONTHS not too long ago due my plateau!

The reason this makes me so happy is because last time I did WW (back in 2007, when my starting weight was right around my current weight), I gave up after my 3 month membership ran out.  As much as I told people that I was “happy” with where I was, it was a lie.  I basically just gave up because I was starting to plateau.  And I was only plateauing for a month back then when I threw in the towel! This time it was THREE MONTHS but I pressed on.

I know I would have given up by now if I was doing this alone again.  Thanks to my wonderful and caring boyfriend Anthony (who is down 20 lbs!) for keeping me on track even when I wanted to give up.  He told me recently that I keep him from giving up, too, which made me so happy to hear.

I’m also thankful for my WW meeting buddies.  Everyone at my weekly meetings (especially Sandy, who leads the meetings) is so helpful and inspiring.  Everyone helps each other out and supports one another all the time…How cool is that?!

And finally, thanks to YOU ALL for reading and being so supportive!  I had no idea that my friends and family would read, comment and be inspired by this blog at all!  Knowing that you are here and rooting for me makes me never want to stop.

That’s about it from me for now, really.  I’ll post shorter/more fun entries soon!

One response to “Still Here!

  1. Gina, so glad things are back on track both @ WW & @ work. You are quite inspirring & write so well. You’re a “chip off the old block”, but not my block, LOL! Nora & I want to see u 2 next weekend, my 62nd birthday weekend( & soon Social security). I’ll call. Love ya both, Dad & Nora

Leave a Reply

